Category: Indie

These Animals :: These Animals EP

Country: USA
Release Date: 2012
Netlabel: aa-hh records
License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

“These Animals are four wild and charming creatures from the urban jungle in the great city of New York. Their music is just as diverse as the jungle itself. Imagine dreamy guitar soundscapes crossed with a motown dancy rythm section. Sounds weird? Well, listen for yourself and discover a mix of dreamy pop and dance-able rock and roll that comes along with sixties-inspired harmonies, floating shoe-gaze guitar textures and toe-tapping rhythms. All sitting very comfortably next to each other.” [aa-hh]

  1. Side By Side
  2. Miles
  3. Pocket
  4. A Word At Sea
  5. Ebb And Flow
  6. Four To The Floor



The Black Atlantic :: Darkling, I Listen

Country: Nehterlands
Release Date: 13 January 2012
Netlabel: Beep! Beep! Back Up The Truck
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike CC BY-NC-SA

“From the near classical guitar intro of the opening, brooder-song “The Aftermath”, it is clear that ‘Darkling, I Listen’ is a much different sonic animal than the intimate, and mostly acoustic, affair of The Black Atlantic’s debut album ‘Reverence for Fallen Trees.’ Clocking in at 23 minutes and 23 seconds, ‘Darkling’ contains five fully sculpted songs with a wide array of elements and influences, from 70’s psychedelic folk–rock to Phil Spector-esque orchestrated chamber pop and 60’s Motown soul sensibilities. It also takes informed cues from current indie epitomes such as Grizzly Bear, Fleet Foxes, and Bon Iver. The Black Atlantic wears these influences on its sleeve without sounding inauthentic. ‘Darkling I, Listen’ is an immersive listening experience, rustic and pastoral, but without the obvious pretty embellishments. It is impressionistic in its scope, full of wide-open vistas and cavernous sonic swells.” (bandcamp)

Download | Website  | Myspace | Facebook

Kismet :: Hiatus


Country: Netherlands
Release Date: 2009
Netlabel: Beep! Beep! Backup The Truck

“In 2008 Kismet entered the studio with critically acclaimed producer Menno Bakker. After a recording proces of one year the album was mastered by Zlaya Hadzic, known for his work with Sonic Youth, Karate and the In the Fishtank project.
Kalle from Hijackyourlife designed the artwork for this release. He delivered a stunning 6 page digifile, containing a fold-out poster and, of course, the cd. It’s available in our shop for 12 euro’s.
Hiatus is the first full-length album by Kismet, after having released two EPs previously. The album title is based on the announced departure of a band member for an indefinite period of time which was the main reason for recording the album. This departure has already been cancelled so Kismet will be hitting the stage plenty in the coming months.” [Beep! Beep!]

Hiatus (Beep! Beep! Backup The Truck, 2009)

  1. white castle
  2. we are all so busy
  3. holiday
  4. TV on
  5. send me a note
  6. all is good
  7. brighter, weather
  8. phnom penh 1974
  9. same story, different name

Download | Myspace

Inertia Blooms :: The Past Is Just Behind You


Country: UK
Release Date: 2009
Netlabel: Lost Children

“Inertia Blooms are currently in a place between two places.

Full of new material, but concentrating on the last year of degrees. We have re recorded some things that have evolved since we first did them. One is a reworking of a track off the Hostages EP, the other was available on the Scrooge compilation that Robot Professor put out a couple of years back.

You might recognise both of them as the collective last song we usually play at shows. We’ve also found another track down the back of the sofa, it had some lint on it and was next to a shilling. It’s also the first acoustic thing we have released . This is a companion release to our 2008 EP ‘Cours Camarade, Le Viuex Monde Est Derrière Toi’, and it’s name is a partial translation.” [lost children]

Inertia Blooms
The Past Is Just Behind You (Lost Children, 2009)

  1. Your Answers Questioned
  2. Funny We Should Meet Like This
  3. Shine To Cracked Buttons (Acoustic)

Download | Site | Myspace :: Barriers


Country: Germany
Release Date: 2009
Netlabel: Clinical Archives

“ formed in 2004 and consists of five guys between the ages of 20 and 26 from the Lower Bavarian province of Geisenhausen, Germany. Heavy-headed, “different”, twisted, exertive and provocative, the band is not easy to categorize. The musical character of their debut album was created, influenced and shaped over the course of many years.

The band’s debut album Barriers was recorded in true DIY style between winter 2005 and spring 2009 at the School of Audio Engineering in Munich, the Sound Concept Studios of Moosburg and at the band’s own rehearsal room in the underground caverns of the Geisenhausen Bunker. Mixed and produced by Frittenbude mastermind Jakob Häglsperger and co-produced by lead vocalist Martin Steer, guitarist of the band Frittenbude. Mastered by Sam Bittner at the Dorian Gray Studios in Munich. Artwork by Andreas Buchner alias Poeta Doctus.” [internet archive]
Barriers (Clinical Archives, 2009)

  1. A Moderate Breeze
  2. This Tenderness
  3. Golden Spoon
  4. Arrows & Bows
  5. Next To Mine
  6. Dolphins & Seaquakes
  7. Sight Unseen
  8. I Don´t Care
  9. City Cultures
  10. Chaos Back
  11. You
  12. Interlude
  13. Virtual Sun
  14. Minerals
  15. Arrows & Bows (Rampue remix)

Download | Official Site | Myspace