Category: Experimental

Planet Boelex :: Exist


Country: Finland
Release Date: 2013
Netlabel: Soft Phase
License: Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license

Exist marks the return to this world of the Finnish electronic musician, Planet Boelex. His decision to disappear from the scene following the acclaimed 2010 release, Raja, served to dismay and perplex. Artists with integrity tend to retire when they have nothing more to say, and yet here was one consistently pushing at frontiers. Perhaps his reasons should remain unexplained. This way, we can submit to these six new tracks as if they’ve just floated in from some other realm.

From the opening notes, this is a listening experience designed to evolve. Where Planet Boelex excels is in drawing you back again and again to make endless new discoveries. There is in fact a complex musical gravity at work here. Melodies rise and fall outside of conventional rhythms, sailing with trusted collaborators at times, and the result is quietly awe-inspiring. Whether or not we hear more from Planet Boelex in future, Exist is a timeless offering.” [Soft Phase]


Download (mp3) | Download (FLAC) | Site | Facebook | Twitter


Adam & Alma :: Back To The Sea

Country: Sweden
Release Date: 2010
Netlabel: 23 seconds
License: Creative Commons Licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0

Adam & Alma is a young electro duo from Stockholm, Sweden, who now release their debut-EP Back To The Sea. The duo consists of Ellen Arkbro and Johan Graden.

With roots in jazz, and also strongly influenced by American indie pop and Swedish electro, they create their own musical universe. Electronic sounds, Johan’s piano and Ellen’s voice make a unique sonority that brings the electronic back to the organic.

Back To The Sea is a collection of the first songs they made together. [23 seconds]

  1. Things
  2. Smile For Me, Sun
  3. Naked
  4. Back To The Sea
  5. Bon

Download | Myspace | Facebook

Ballpen :: The Dreams Trilogy

Country: Italy
Release Date: October, 2010
Netlabel: La bèl

From the press release:

This music is based on how my dreams have been working throughout the years.The thing I like about dreams is that there are no schemes, no shames, no recipes and everything can happily or strangely  cohabit with everything else.The way the songs are composed are similar to what I’ve expereinced in my dream so far. Like the hospital  in my hometown  turned upside down and placed in the middle of a race circuit, or me riding a turtle  dressed up like Darth Vader, chasing my auntie along the dock of an unknown port in Malaysia. And other  billions of strange and funny combinations of the puzzle – pieces of my life.And everybody’s life I suppose.Some of this dreams are made in a song form, some others are built like a possible dream would develop.  Some vocal parts  sound like somebody that’s sleep talking and the music is supposed to be what’s  sonically going on in his/her head or you can  hear that the music melts when somebody is falling asleep.  And if you listen at a reasonable low volume you can still hear the  music and what’s going on in the room  next to yours at the same time.It’s very interesting. I swear.Apart from this, I also think that this music is good for your heart.And, by the way, this album has been recorded inside a cardboard box.”

  1. The scaffolding dream
  2. The sea dream
  3. The hometown dream
  4. Pass the ball sail the days
  5. The tap water dream
  6. Serene nightmare
  7. Dream episodes
  8. The magazine dream
  9. Wonderland cowboys
  10. Anna Lisa goes to bed
  11. The bus stop dream

Download | Site

Wings Of An Angel :: Requiem For An Anonymous Genius

Country: Israel
Release date: July, 2010
Netlabel: Paralucid

“This mesmerizing album is definitely your most esoteric work to date. It perfectly reflects the twilight zone where your genius ideas and surprising influences converge. I don’t think anyone, anywhere, manages to cohesively entwine free jazz and middle eastern sounds in a beautiful way as you do. Your music is so well worked out and expressively subtle that it belongs to its own league without a shadow of a doubt. Wings of an Angel – you have done it once again. A genius of the subconscious. Your music is a timeless manifestation of spiritual transcendence via sound-poetry. You are the darkest guru whose unique creative output endlessly reminds me that we are Gods. You combine in one person the pure innocence of the archetypal poet and the crabbed wrath of the archetypal prophet. Up to now, each project of yours was without parallel!” []

Wings Of An Angel
Requiem For An Anonymous Genius
(The Breath Of Life, Carnal Annihilation
And Miraculous Resurrection Of The Job Of Art)
(ParaLucid, 2010)

  1. The Fathomless Soulfulness Of Those Unreachable Almond Eyes
  2. The House of Mirrors Amidst The Desert of Self-Perception
  3. Prayer To The Light
  4. Fading Portrait Of A Love Lorn Artist Struggling With His Demons
  5. Inside The Decaying Consciousness Of A Solitary Genius – A Nightmare In Vivo
  6. I Hear A Drum With My Soul’s Ear Coming From The Depths Of The Stars
  7. Ishq For Majnun
  8. Tenderly Kissing White Petals In Self Forgetfulness
  9. Improvising Sadness For Life Unborn (Sound Track For The Tragic Anti-Heroes Of Life)
  10. Looking At My Silent Reflection Through A Nonexistent Mirror

Download | Artwork | Site | Myspace

Beginnings :: Waiting on the Weather

Country: UK
Release Date: June 2010
Netlabel: Rural Colours

Beginnings is the alias and solo project of experimental musician Jon Frost, who creates drifting soundscapes with electric guitar and laptop synths. On this his first official release, Jon adopted a semi-improvised approach by recording passages of solo guitar on-the-fly, then later arranging them with electronic layers of tone, harmony and noise to create a sound that is full of shifting textures and ambient melancholy, designed to accompany the waiting moments of any given day.

This is a Rural Colours release (RC001). More details at

Wainting on the Weather

  1. Pristine Wilderness
  2. Not Yet Ready For The Day
  3. Heritage Of Splendour

Site | Artwork

sleepmakeswaves :: In Today Already Walks Tomorrow


Country: Australia
Release Date:
Netlabel: lost children

“A beautiful and moving release, the band sleepmakeswaves from Sydney gives us almost forty minutes of sweeping ambience intermingled with heavy guitars. ‘In Today Already Walks Tomorrow’ is beyond post-rock, beyond progressive. These Aussies have invented something all their own. The music presented here is sometimes quiet and introspective, sometimes loud, rowdy and in your face. If you like The Big Sleep, Three, or Explosions in the Sky, then you will love sleepmakeswaves.” []

In Today Already Walks Tomorrow (Lost Children 2009)

  1. I Will Write Peace On Your Wings And You Will Fly Over The World
  2. Exits To Nowhere
  3. One Day You Will Teach Me To Let Go Of My Fears
  4. So That The Children Will Always Shout Her Name
  5. It’s Dark, It’s Cold, It’s Winter
  6. What We Cannot Speak Of Must Be Passed Over In Silence

Download | Artwork | Site | Myspace