Category: Electronic

Stewart & Scarfe :: Outer Circular

00 - Cover

Country: UK
Release Date: 2013
Netlabel: Blocsonic
License: Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License

“With “Outer Circular”, Lyndon Scarfe reworks selections from Liam Stewart’s solo body of work. A thoroughly enjoyable and inventive collection that easily stands on its own as a significant release in itself. Sequenced, phased, vocoded, synthed, reverbed, echoed… it’s now time for these Liam Stewart songs to also be rediscovered. Sit back, crank it and let the music wash over you.” [blocsonic]


Download (mp3) | Download (ogg) | Download (FLAC)Myspace | Facebook


Planet Boelex :: Exist


Country: Finland
Release Date: 2013
Netlabel: Soft Phase
License: Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license

Exist marks the return to this world of the Finnish electronic musician, Planet Boelex. His decision to disappear from the scene following the acclaimed 2010 release, Raja, served to dismay and perplex. Artists with integrity tend to retire when they have nothing more to say, and yet here was one consistently pushing at frontiers. Perhaps his reasons should remain unexplained. This way, we can submit to these six new tracks as if they’ve just floated in from some other realm.

From the opening notes, this is a listening experience designed to evolve. Where Planet Boelex excels is in drawing you back again and again to make endless new discoveries. There is in fact a complex musical gravity at work here. Melodies rise and fall outside of conventional rhythms, sailing with trusted collaborators at times, and the result is quietly awe-inspiring. Whether or not we hear more from Planet Boelex in future, Exist is a timeless offering.” [Soft Phase]


Download (mp3) | Download (FLAC) | Site | Facebook | Twitter

T(h)ree :: One Point Five

Country: Portugal/Hong Kong/Macao
Release Date: 2011
Netlabel: Mimi
License: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported (CC BY-NC-ND 3.0)

Musicians from Portugal, Hong Kong and Macao return to draft a new release of T(H)REE, this time in digital format EP.

T(H)REE is a nonprofit musical project, which combines contemporary musicians from Portugal, and several Asian countries. The idea comes not only with the commitment to materialize this meeting of cultures but also the urgent desire to encourage local musical production, taking it away from its borders, reaching distant territories, forming contacts and initiate new musical and cultural that would otherwise never take place.

One Point Five brings us a new set of musicality that can be listened as a complement to the album T(H)REE vol 1, released in 2011. It’s a perfect soundtrack for a journey between nature and city, between the traditional music and the noisy bustle of the big metropolis. Between Asia and Portugal.

This compilation is a partnership between the T(h)ree project and MiMi Records. [mimi]

  1. Faye Choi + David Valentim – Suffering becomes honey
  2. Evade + Kubik – HPR (new version)
  3. Error Wrong + Erro! – Tree robot
  4. A Roller Control + Ch’os – The Wave (remodeled)
  5. Fragile + Rocky Marsiano – Second twelfth
  6. Dj Kawayama + Tiago Guillul – Lou Reed wants to be black
  7. (Outro) Temple street

Download | Artwork | Myspace

Adam & Alma :: Back To The Sea

Country: Sweden
Release Date: 2010
Netlabel: 23 seconds
License: Creative Commons Licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0

Adam & Alma is a young electro duo from Stockholm, Sweden, who now release their debut-EP Back To The Sea. The duo consists of Ellen Arkbro and Johan Graden.

With roots in jazz, and also strongly influenced by American indie pop and Swedish electro, they create their own musical universe. Electronic sounds, Johan’s piano and Ellen’s voice make a unique sonority that brings the electronic back to the organic.

Back To The Sea is a collection of the first songs they made together. [23 seconds]

  1. Things
  2. Smile For Me, Sun
  3. Naked
  4. Back To The Sea
  5. Bon

Download | Myspace | Facebook

F.S.Blumm/Lucrecia Dalt :: Cuatro Covers

Country: Germany/Spain
Release Date: 2011
Netlabel: La bèl netlabel

“La bèl netlabel is proud to presents Frank Schültge Blumm & Lucrecia Dalt. Two great artists and four awesome songs revisited with extreme sensibility and depth.” [la bèl]

  1. Quizas
  2. Close to vos
  3. S.o.y
  4. Old amigos

Download | Myspace | Facebook | Twitter

The Lights Streaming Through the Sound :: Lights

Country: Japan
Release Date: 2008
Netlabel: Mimi

“”Lights” is a record which exists within self-confrontation.

Even though the dominating aesthetics seems to be Post-Rock, different and subtle layers coexist under that front.

It lives in confront because, although in an intangible manner, through every track runs a brutal force of tension that agravates with each crescendo, and it never diludes itself on the superficial placidity to where the music drives us.

This is a journey that begins in melodic territory underlined by clarividity; somewhere in the middle of the record a challenge to the listener arises with a long moment of abstraction. Eventually, it all exits and turns into warm sound waves that slowly build a wall and provide us with confort.” [mimi]

  1. India
  2. Lights
  3. Fragmentary Sounds
  4. Cold Sea
  5. Sunrise

Download | Artwork | Myspace | Facebook

Ballpen :: The Dreams Trilogy

Country: Italy
Release Date: October, 2010
Netlabel: La bèl

From the press release:

This music is based on how my dreams have been working throughout the years.The thing I like about dreams is that there are no schemes, no shames, no recipes and everything can happily or strangely  cohabit with everything else.The way the songs are composed are similar to what I’ve expereinced in my dream so far. Like the hospital  in my hometown  turned upside down and placed in the middle of a race circuit, or me riding a turtle  dressed up like Darth Vader, chasing my auntie along the dock of an unknown port in Malaysia. And other  billions of strange and funny combinations of the puzzle – pieces of my life.And everybody’s life I suppose.Some of this dreams are made in a song form, some others are built like a possible dream would develop.  Some vocal parts  sound like somebody that’s sleep talking and the music is supposed to be what’s  sonically going on in his/her head or you can  hear that the music melts when somebody is falling asleep.  And if you listen at a reasonable low volume you can still hear the  music and what’s going on in the room  next to yours at the same time.It’s very interesting. I swear.Apart from this, I also think that this music is good for your heart.And, by the way, this album has been recorded inside a cardboard box.”

  1. The scaffolding dream
  2. The sea dream
  3. The hometown dream
  4. Pass the ball sail the days
  5. The tap water dream
  6. Serene nightmare
  7. Dream episodes
  8. The magazine dream
  9. Wonderland cowboys
  10. Anna Lisa goes to bed
  11. The bus stop dream

Download | Site